About

On this blog we will track down the latest Amazon Kindle news. We will keep you up to date with whats hot in the bestsellers section, including books, ebooks and blogs... and we will also bring you great Kindle3 tips and tricks along with reviews for the latest KindleDX accessories.

Recent Comments

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tis the Season for Beach Reads

When I have a lot going on, I tend to go for lighter reading.  Several books I’ve read lately make great beach reads.  If you’re looking for some mostly inexpensive books to take to the beach, I recommend books by Karen McQuestion.  Other bestselling authors to note of are Jennifer Weiner and Sarah Pekkanen.

Karen McQuestion, the author of the bestselling Kindle e-book, A Scattered Life, has a new book out called The Long Way Home.  Four women of varying ages embark on a road trip to Las Vegas.  Along the way, they face past fears and tragedies, form close bonds, and of course have the adventure of a lifetime.

A good author puts you into the circumstances and gives you a full idea of their character’s personalities.  McQuestion does a good job of this in The Long Way Home.  There is even a supernatural element to the story.

Sarah Pekkanen writes classic chick lit, but I enjoyed These Girls more than most chick lit books I’ve read because the characters had real personalities.  It also boasts great reviews.  They dealt with real issues and showed compassion for each other.  There wasn’t a snooty tone to this book like there usually is in a book about working at a magazine.  That’s not to say that These Girls doesn’t give insight to the cutthroat nature of the competition for higher jobs within a magazine.

Jennifer Weiner is the bestselling author of In Her Shoes.  It was developed into a hit movie a few years ago.  I think my favorite part about Jennifer Weiner’s books is the humor.  Usually she writes from the point of view of a “second best” who give their funny take on another popular, “have it all” type, that doesn’t really have it all.  Her latest, Then Came You deals with fertility issues from different perspectives.

All of these books are $9.99 or less in the Kindle Store.  Karen McQuestion’s book is available in the Kindle Owner’s Lending Library.  Happy reading!

Summer Reads for $3.99 or Less

If you are anything like me, you’re not too thrilled about the rising e-book prices.  If you’re open to trying some new reading material, there is a good selection of Kindle e-books available for $3.99 or less.  A good way to stock up for the beach or pool.

The summer reading list includes a variety of genres including fiction, mysteries and thrillers, nonfiction, historical fiction, and of course chick lit, other wise known as “women’s fiction”.

To be honest, the only author I actually recognize is Karen McQuestion, who wrote A Scattered Life, a big bestseller for awhile.  A Scattered Life is a tale of the importance of friendships and learning not to judge a book by its cover so to speak when it comes to appearances.  Both A Scattered Life and her other book, Easily Amused are on the list.

I laughed out loud when I read the reviews of Why I Love Singlehood.  Anyone who has been mixed up in relationship issues can probably relate to this book.  This will be one I can add to my “easy reading” list.

Final Price, by J. Gregory Smith was the 2009 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Contest.  The thriller features a psychopathic car salesman who fights his own inner demons and does not take rejection well at all.  Final Price provides a unique perspective by using the car salesman’s point of view as opposed to a customer’s.

AWOL on the Appalachian Trail is a must read because David Miller writes such a vivid account of his adventures of hiking the entire trail.  I’ve always wanted to hike at least a portion of the AT, so I’m definitely adding this to my Kindle summer reading list.

According to Amazon (NASDAQ:AMZN), these books are all available at a reduced price for only a limited time.  Not sure on the exact date that the offer ends.  I’m off to bury myself in a good beach read.

 

Kindle Books on a Budget

If you look beyond the major, well known bestsellers, you will find a wide selection of free or inexpensive books for the Kindle and Kindle DX that are really good.  Many have outstanding reviews.  They are also great for a tight budget.

While browsing the Amazon Kindle Top 100 Free list, I came across Raising Jake, by Charlie Carillo. Raising Jake is a story about father-son bonding and is a nice break from the sea of sappy romance novels that seem to take over the whole Top 100 list.  Keep an eye on that list, there are often some really good books on there for a limited time.

Sammy Sullivan gets fired from his job at a New York tabloid, and his son Jake gets expelled from school all on the same day.  Sammy revisits his troublesome past, while Jake gets to know his family roots.

Allison Grambs sums up the novel very well:

“In the tradition of Tom Perotta, Carillo explores the strength of the family bond, the power of forgiveness, and the hope that comes from embracing second chances. . .truthful, and hilarious.”–Alison Grambs, author of The Smart Girls Guide to Getting Even

Carillo’s newest novel, One Hit Wonder was released today, and is a tale of lost love and missed opportunities.  Like Raising Jake, One Hit Wonder follows a middle aged man who must face past issues and grow up. After getting dumped by his girlfriend at 18, Mickey DeFalco wrote a love song that became a huge hit, but luck dwindles as the years pass.  DeFalco struggles to find a foothold in life and mows lawns for a living twenty years later.  His lost love resurfaces, uncovering lies and secrets that demonstrate how unpredictable life can be.

Karen McQuestion’s A Scattered Life is in the top 25 on the Kindle 100 list, and is only $2.99.  A Scattered Life is about the importance of family and friends.  Skyla Plinka, the lead character in the novel, learns how to let go of her tragic past, and embrace the present, as well as the the people who care for her.  The novel really gets into the heart of family issues.  McQuestion also wrote Life on Hold, the story of 15 year old Rae and her struggles with having to move constantly with her flaky mother.  McQuestion manages to take real life issues and provide us with a light, easy reading experience.

I even saw some books for less than two dollars in a variety of genres including romance, mystery and thrillers.  Happy reading!